Search
  • lucietrapp

5 Things You Didn't Know About Me



This my first blog post so I thought I should start by you getting to know me, Lucie the founder of Lucie's Lambs!

  1. I'm a first generation farmer

I was born and brought up in London but with summer holidays spent in rural Suffolk, I've always had an appreciation for the outdoors and countryside. It was my granny who introduced me to horses - sorry mum and dad, and after moving to the country aged 8 messing around with ponies kept on farms ignited the spark. Whilst there is plenty of farming blood in the family on both sides, there was never a chance that we'd get the family farm. I'm incredibly fortunate to graze the sheep at my parents small holding and I rent some paddocks locally too.


I've studied agriculture since I was 17, learning all aspects from crops to livestock to horticulture, but it was sheep which stole my heart. I think my lecturers struggled to get me out of the lambing shed at college, where I'd sign up for extra shifts even night shifts, its a bug I caught and lambing will always be my favourite time in the farming calendar!




Me aged 18 riding a quad bike in New York

2. I've worked on farms in 4 countries


When I decided I wanted to study farming, I had no idea what I'd end up doing, but I wanted to work on as many farms as possible and travel, so I could understand the farming industry worldwide.


Whilst at college I was very lucky to do my work experience hours on a family owned medium sized dairy farm in our village. I loved working there- milking, rearing calves, checking stock to name a few chores but as all good things come to an end, I decided it was time to go travelling.


At the age of 18 I signed up to WWOOF (World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms) and traveled to New York State, USA to work on an extensive beef cattle farm. I fell in love with the life there and I've never seen happier, healthier cattle living outside all year round on a 100% forage diet- grass in the summer and oat and pea silage in the winter, even with their harsh winters. I firmly believe this farm lead me to where I am today, back in the UK the grass fed movement was just beginning but to see it first hand made me realise it was possible! I still remember not wanting to go to the airport to come home and as a home body, that's a rare thing! I still keep in contact with the owners and would love to return one day.


When I was 19 I went to New Zealand to work on a dairy farm- now this is completely different to what we have in the UK and really opened by eyes to properly intensive farming but predominately outside- much of the North Island has a very temperate climate so the grass grows all year round allowing this to happen with additional feed fed on concrete slabs in the fields. This isn't my style of farming but it was important for me to see.


I've also been an assistant farm manager in The Republic of Ireland on a beef and sheep farm. This experience actually made me want to do my business back home properly and really made me realise how important high welfare standards are.



Our milk gets delivered from a local dairy, which helps support local dairy farmers


3. I love supporting British Farmers


Farming is one big family and community, while farming can be incredibly lonely people will always have your back. I've met some incredible people throughout my career so far who make much of the food and drink we consume on a daily basis.


I also really try to buy local seasonal produce, it can be boring in the winter though, that's where frozen fruit and veg comes into its own!



Me riding on Dartmoor


4. When I'm not shepherding what do I do?


Sadly, farming rarely provides enough income for everyone to work solely on the farm. During the pandemic I did some tech training and am now an executive assistant part time for a small business. I love the contrast in my two roles but definitely couldn't be in an office all day without being able to get outside before and after work!


I'm also a country girl at heart so I love riding my horse, walking the dog, attending the county show, any riding event - Badminton and Burghley are a fav! But I also love cooking for friends and family. From baking birthday cakes to cooking for 20 for New Years Eve I think I've done most things in the kitchen!



The team!


5. Family is everything!


We're a pretty tight knit family, and I'm so lucky that my whole family are my biggest supporters! Always there to comfort me during the lows and there to pour me a glass of wine for the highs!

11 views0 comments